The International Peat Society Award of Excellence

The IPS Award of Excellence was given out during 2006-2014 for a distinguished contribution in any sector of peatland activities.


2006 Dr Hans Joosten, the Netherlands and Mr Donal Clarke, Ireland (Wim Tonnis Award)
2007 Mr Hartmut Falkenberg, Germany (Wim Tonnis Award)
2008 Mrs Riitta Korhonen, Finland
2009 Dr Timo Nyrönen, Finland
2010 Mr. Gerald Schmilewski, Germany
2011 Dr. Line Rochefort, Canada
2012 Professor Piotr Ilnicki, Poland
2013 Professor Harri Vasander, Finland
2014 Professor Richard “Dicky” Clymo, United Kingdom

Terms of Reference

For a distinguished contribution by a single person, group or project in any sector of peatland activities.

A framed scroll and a cash prize of total € 1,000. 

Application Deadline
31 January of every year. Nominations are valid only for the year they are submitted in.

Nominations can be sent in for single persons, groups or projects. Submissions can be made by a written letter or at the IPS website, containing:

-    Name and contact details of the submitting person/organisation
-    Name and contact details of the candidate for the Award
-    Reasons why the Award should be given to that person/group/project

Selection Committee
The decision on the Award winner was made by the IPS Executive Board by simple majority decision. The award shall be presented annually unless the IPS Executive Board considers that no suitable candidate has been nominated.

The award was presented annually at the Annual Assembly of IPS.